Future Earth logo

The Academy signs petition to the Future Earth initiative

Young Academy of Sweden together with several international young academies and associations of young researchers has signed a petition to the Future Earth initiative to highlight the importance of engaging a new generation of researchers. The letter includes seven steps to promote the involvement of young researchers.

Read the petition here Pdf, 806.9 kB, opens in new window.

Beatrice Crona

Beatrice Crona

The petition, titled with a question: “A Future Earth for Future
Generations?”, is addressed to the Future Earth Governing Council,
Science and Engagement Committee. Among the suggestions is the advice to
allocate core funding for the involvement of young researchers; to make
it an explicit goal to have young scientist organizations represented
at all the Future Earth events; and to recruit a team of skilled young
Future Earth ambassadors to communicate Future Earth to the broader
community. Academy member Beatrice Crona, Associate Professor at the Stockholm Resilience Center, has coordinated the Young Academy of Swedens’s engagement in the petition.

Future Earth is a new 10-year international research initiative that will develop the knowledge for responding effectively to the risks and opportunities of global environmental change and for supporting transformation towards global sustainability in the coming decades. Future Earth will mobilize thousands of scientists while strengthening partnerships with policy-makers and other stakeholders to provide sustainability options and solutions in the wake of Rio+20.

The organizations signing the petition:

The International Network of Next-Generation Ecologists, innge.net

Global Young Academy (GYA)

Young Academy of Sweden

South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS)

Liberian Young Association for the Advancement of Science (LYAAS)

Sri Lankan Academy of Young Scientists (SLAYS)

National Academy of Young Scientists Pakistan (NAYS)

Zimbabwe Young Academy of Science (ZIMYAS)

Young Scientists Network – Academy of Sciences Malaysia

Working Group “Sustainability” of Die Junge Akademie at the Berlin Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (Stefanie Hiß, Alexander Danzer, Tobias J. Erb, Anke Jentsch, Silja Klepp, Alexander Knohl, Tobias Kuemmerle, Regina Palkovits, Martin Wilmking, Robert Wolf, Jadwiga R. Ziolkowska)

More information

Future Earth External link, opens in new window.

Young Academy of Sweden
c/o The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Box 50005
SE-104 05 Stockholm

+ 46 (0)8 673 9500

Facebook länk
Twitter länk