Top row from the left: Oscar Agertz (photo: Lena Björk Blixt), Lisa Hellman (photo: BCDSS Press), Karolina Kauppi (photo: Gunilla Sonnebring), Johan Larsbrink (photo: Martin Jansson). Bottom row from the left: Gabriele Messori (photo: Mikael Wallerstedt), Sigrid Schottenius Cullhed (photo: Eric Cullhed), Michael Schöll (photo: Elena Camporesi) and Janina Seubert (foto: Stephan Zimmermann). Click to enlarge, find press images here Opens in new window. and below.

Eight top researchers from different disciplines to the Young Academy of Sweden

Pressrelease. Four men and four women, all prominent researchers in their fields including biotechnology, brain research, literature and astronomy, are elected to the Young Academy of Sweden. In 10 years, the organization has become a strong voice among decision-makers in the research world both nationally and internationally.

Sebastian Westenhoff Foto: Erik Thor/SUA

Foto: Erik Thor/SUA

We take huge pleasure in welcoming new members, the number of applicants this year was record high. We look forward to unleashing our energy on new activities together, says chair Sebastian Westenhoff (professor in biophysical chemistry at University of Gothenburg and Karin and Herbert Jacobsson Professor in biochemistry at Uppsala University).

95 members since the start

YAS celebrates 10 years in 2021 and has since its founding in 2011 had a total of 95 prominent researchers as members, many alumni are today in leading positions in the research system. Scientific innovation, leadership and an interdisciplinary approach permeate the all activities. A core mission since the start is promoting transparent and quality-driven career paths. With the successful children's book Forskardrömmar (Researcher Dreams), SUA engages children and young people to increase their understanding of research and encourage them to see themselves as researchers in the future.

Sebastian Westenhoff, chair,, +46 076-618 39 36
Annika Moberg, kommunikationsansvarig,, +46 070-325 32 18

Young Academy of Sweden
c/o The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Box 50005
SE-104 05 Stockholm

+ 46 (0)8 673 9500

Facebook länk
Twitter länk